top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlan Wang

Journal 26 -- May 14th Post

For this journal, I’m going to plan out how the beginning of my podcast will go for my final project.


The essential question is: Using Behavioral Economics, how can we alleviate the COVID-19 pandemic as swiftly and efficiently as possible?


To start off the podcast, I think I’ll begin with a hook of some sort (just like for past presentations). This will probably involve immediately mentioning COVID-19, but there’s multiple ways to approach it.


  1. I could come out with a shocking statement such as “The COVID-19 pandemic is more than capable of being alleviated within the next few months, allowing for colleges and the normal state of affairs to resume once again in the fall.”

  2. I could mention some kind of illogical behavior that certain people have been making during this pandemic, in hopes that the listeners will immediately agree and wonder why these sorts of decisions are being made.

  3. I could invoke some sort of anecdote about the widespread destruction this pandemic is causing, which I could then potentially lead into option a)


Those are just some ideas where I’m not committed to any yet. After this hook/intro, I’m not sure where to begin. The podcast should be around 10 minutes, but I’m not sure how far back I need to go when introducing BE. Do I give a quick summary of Systems 1 and 2 before going into more specific concepts like the social contagion?


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Journal 28 -- May 28th Post

Following my last journal post, after I quickly introduce what Behavioral Economics is as well as Systems 1 and 2, that’s when I’ll transition to talking about the specific COVID-19 connection. Since

Journal 27 -- May 21st Post

Continuing with the planning from last journal, I think it would be ideal to have an introduction most similar to option a. This is because the target audience for this podcast would be those who are

Journal 25 -- May 7th Post

https://coronavirus.jhu.edu/from-our-experts/do-social-networks-increase-or-decrease-the-covid-19-contagion-rate https://www.ethicalsystems.org/behavioral-economist-robert-frank-on-covid-19-and-the-mo

  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon

© 2019 by Alan Wang, a student at Guilderland High School 

bottom of page