top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlan Wang

Journal 27 -- May 21st Post

Continuing with the planning from last journal, I think it would be ideal to have an introduction most similar to option a. This is because the target audience for this podcast would be those who are on the more fearful side in regards to the dangers of COVID-19. After all, the goal of this podcast is to convince the people who can take the most action, whether it be following the podcast’s procedures, or spreading knowledge to others.


Next, I’ll name-drop “Behavioral Economics,” and introduce it extremely quickly. For example, I could say “This is a relatively new discipline in the social sciences that has an emphasis on how humans and institutions make decisions and how their behaviors change, most typically in regards to activities involving money (like law).” And because COVID-19 is a worldwide pandemic that is obviously devastating the economics of countries all across the globe, this is an easy connection to make.


Following that, I could quickly introduce Systems 1 and 2 as the “basis” of Behavioral Economics, as highlighted by Dr. Daniel Kahneman. It’s like writing; you can’t write novels or essays without the concept of words or letters. Once I explain these two systems using keywords like “System 1 = intuition, pattern-recognition, etc.” and “System 2 = slow purposeful thinking, thoughtful analysis, etc.” I can move on to the concept I want to specifically highlight in regards to COVID-19. And for the rest of the podcast, I should be able to keep tying everything I talk about back to Systems 1 and 2, after all, they are the core/underlying explanation to how everything in BE works.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Journal 28 -- May 28th Post

Following my last journal post, after I quickly introduce what Behavioral Economics is as well as Systems 1 and 2, that’s when I’ll transition to talking about the specific COVID-19 connection. Since

Journal 26 -- May 14th Post

For this journal, I’m going to plan out how the beginning of my podcast will go for my final project. The essential question is: Using Behavioral Economics, how can we alleviate the COVID-19 pandemic

Journal 25 -- May 7th Post

https://coronavirus.jhu.edu/from-our-experts/do-social-networks-increase-or-decrease-the-covid-19-contagion-rate https://www.ethicalsystems.org/behavioral-economist-robert-frank-on-covid-19-and-the-mo

  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon

© 2019 by Alan Wang, a student at Guilderland High School 

bottom of page