top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlan Wang

Journal Seventeen -- March SDA Reflection

In this SDA, the difference to my previous ones was the approach used. Before, I didn’t branch out in other fields nearly as much as I did for this one where I actually wrote a bill to create a new law using Behavioral Economics as justification. I alluded to a Public Policy application in early SDAs, but this was the first time I actually committed to it.

For this SDA, I managed my time across 5 days by splitting up the work to do for each day. For example on the first day, I only planned what kind of bill to write (which took around 4 hours). The next day, I began writing notes and doing research before physically writing the bill on later days.


The “C” I attempted to hit this assignment was Creativity, which I think I managed to do. Compared to my previous SDAs, I think this one feels the most different in terms of applications of knowledge. It was “creative” in this sense, but not necessarily in the medium in that I wrote a bill because I end up writing for a lot of my work in this class.


This assignment pushed my thinking by having to truly think about Behavioral Economics in a different setting. I had read about public policy applications, but what was one that I could come up with on my own and how exactly could I justify it using the research presented in Thinking, Fast and Slow? That was the goal of this SDA and I think I managed to accomplish at least part of it. I think this information will contribute to my final product by giving me a good idea of what a different perspective or application of Behavioral Economics can look like. It’s something I’ll have to keep considering for the future.


My goal moving forward is to keep reading and to set up my interview soon! I have yet to do an interview across my 2 years in EMC, so I’m hoping that this new experience will be very valuable.



Below is the works cited page for my March SDA:



“Fines and Penalties.” GDPR EUorg, www.gdpreu.org/compliance/fines-and-penalties/.

Ghoshal, Abhimanyu. “Why We Should Worry about Facebook and Google Owning Our Data.” The Next Web, 25 Apr. 2018, thenextweb.com/insights/2018/04/25/why-should-you-care-if-google-and-facebook-own-your-data/.


Jolls, Christine, et al. “A Behavioral Approach to Law and Economics.” Behavioral Law and Economics, 2000, pp. 1473–1548.,


Kahneman, Daniel. Thinking, Fast and Slow. Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2015.


Mims, Christopher. “Who Has More of Your Personal Data Than Facebook? Try Google.” The Wall Street Journal, Dow Jones & Company, 22 Apr. 2018, www.wsj.com/articles/who-has-more-of-your-personal-data-than-facebook-try-google-1524398401.


“Should Consumers Be Able to Sell Their Own Personal Data?” The Wall Street Journal, Dow Jones & Company, 13 Oct. 2019, www.wsj.com/articles/should-consumers-be-able-to-sell-their-own-personal-data-11570971600.


Will.i.am. “We Need to Own Our Data as a Human Right-and Be Compensated for It.” The Economist, The Economist Newspaper, 21 Jan. 2019, www.economist.com/open-future/2019/01/21/we-need-to-own-our-data-as-a-human-right-and-be-compensated-for-it.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Journal 28 -- May 28th Post

Following my last journal post, after I quickly introduce what Behavioral Economics is as well as Systems 1 and 2, that’s when I’ll...

Journal 27 -- May 21st Post

Continuing with the planning from last journal, I think it would be ideal to have an introduction most similar to option a. This is...

Journal 26 -- May 14th Post

For this journal, I’m going to plan out how the beginning of my podcast will go for my final project. The essential question is: Using...

Comments


bottom of page