top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlan Wang

Journal Ten -- December 8th post

For this (late) Journal post, I will be posting a “Q-Focus statement” that my SDA experiment will attempt to answer, as well as some Higher-Order Thinking Questions that it will address.

Q-Focus Statement: When probability is easily substituted for plausibility by our System 1s, irrational judgements with sometimes wide-encompassing effects can be made, especially in public policy or business affairs where large amounts of public resources are mobilized.

HOTQs:

Knowledge: How would you describe System 1?


Comprehension: What can I say about System 1’s influence over System 2?


Application: What examples can I find to show some irrational decisions that used a lot of public resources?


Analysis: How is System 1’s relation to System 2 similar to Haidt’s Rider to the Elephant?


Evaluation: Would it be better if our System 1’s didn’t have the capacity to do what this experiment demonstrates?


Synthesis: What could be done to maximize/minimize these irrational judgements?

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Journal 28 -- May 28th Post

Following my last journal post, after I quickly introduce what Behavioral Economics is as well as Systems 1 and 2, that’s when I’ll transition to talking about the specific COVID-19 connection. Since

Journal 27 -- May 21st Post

Continuing with the planning from last journal, I think it would be ideal to have an introduction most similar to option a. This is because the target audience for this podcast would be those who are

Journal 26 -- May 14th Post

For this journal, I’m going to plan out how the beginning of my podcast will go for my final project. The essential question is: Using Behavioral Economics, how can we alleviate the COVID-19 pandemic

  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon

© 2019 by Alan Wang, a student at Guilderland High School 

bottom of page